Music at Duffield

Allegri String Quartet

Saturday 10 October 2009


Allegri String Quartet

     Ofer Falk       Katherine Jenkinson      Dorothea Vogel     Rafael Todes

The Allegri Quartet is one of the oldest British Chamber ensembles in existence, going back to its foundation in the 1953 by Eli Goren, William Pleeth, Patrick Ireland and James Barton. It is still in good form as the quote below shows. Their programme for us includes an early Haydn Quartet and Tchaikovsky’s 3rd and final quartet as well as a work by Matthew Taylor, an exciting young British composer, his 6th Quartet, premiered by the Allegri.

"Not having heard the Allegri Quartet for years, I was delighted to find the group in superb shape (Kings Place, 11 January). Under Ofer Falk’s leadership it makes a lovely sound and has a great deal to say." The Strad April 2009



Haydn                            String Quartet op. 20 no. 2

Matthew Taylor             String Quartet no. 6

Tchaikovsky                  String Quartet in Eb minor op. 30