Music at Duffield

Aquinas Piano Trio

Saturday 15 January 2011  


The Aquinas Piano Trio is a new, exciting and ambitious chamber group.  Ruth Rogers (violin) has worked as a duo with Martin Cousin (piano) for several years and has also played extensively with Katherine Jenkinson (cello) in the Iuventus Quartet. All three players are established solo artists in their own right and have vast experience of the chamber music repertoire. They came together to record the Thomas Hyde work ‘Three Dancers’ which was a Music at Duffield commission in 2005 and described as ‘…engaging, tonal and quirky, with the hint of a tango.’ We are hoping to commission a companion piece to receive its first performance at this concert. The Trio have already played at the VoiceBox and Derby Chamber Music and received rave reviews.

Supported by the Making Music Concert Promoters’ Network Scheme.


Haydn                             Gypsy Rondo Trio

Ireland                          Fantasy Trio

Debussy                         Piano Trio

Thomas Hyde               Three Dancers & New Commission

Saint-Saëns                   Piano Trio no 2