Music at Duffield


Saturday 9 April 2011


Formed by clarinettist Chris Swann in 1980 this energetic woodwind quintet comprises renowned and experienced musicians drawn from Britain’s leading orchestras, often working as in this concert as a sextet alongside concert pianist Ian Buckle. Zephyr’s repertoire is varied and extensive, ranging from Mozart to the present day, enabling the creation of diverse, interesting and exciting programmes. Concerts are introduced from the stage with warmth, insight and humour in an atmosphere which creates maximum enjoyment for players and listeners alike.


Mozart                         Wind Quintet, K452

Strauss                       Till Eulenspiegel’s Merry Pranks

Françaix                      L’Heure du Berger

Shostakovich            Four Waltzes

Poulenc                       Sextet for Piano and Winds